---
title: Collaborators
slug: collaborators
docTags: 
createdAt: 2024-07-10T12:38:27.265Z
---

:::hint{type="info"}
Users with the workspace role `Admin`, `Developer` or `Project manager` can access the collaborator page in Workspace Administration.
:::

Other organisations can get invited to a workspace, e.g. to assist in producing annotations. This is done by adding the organisation as a workspace **collaborator**. Collaborators are managed from the Collaborators tab in Workspace Administration.



![](https://app.archbee.com/api/optimize/UEsak7qRkcTDH_27M-apg-zUIETsC1STsQ6WFpJpACE-20240916-063944.png "In this example, the organisation \"Data partner\" is invited as a collaborator to ACME's workspace \"Area A\".")

:::hint{type="info"}
You will only be able to see collaborators that you have **workforce access** to. The only exception is that members with the `Admin` role will see all collaborators in the workspace because it's important that an Admin is in control of what **project access&#x20;**&#x65;ach collaborator has.
:::

### Invite an organization as a collaborator

:::hint{type="info"}
Users with the workspace role `Admin` and `Developer` are allowed to invite an organization as any collaboration type. Users with the workspace role `Project manager` are only allowed to invite them as **Annotation partners**.
:::

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Inside the collaborators tab in Workspace Administration, click the "Add collaborator" button in the top right of the collaborators table.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the modal dialog, start by specifying what collaboration type(s) the organisation should have. When you're done, click "Next".
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Next, invite the organisation either via an email address of someone belonging to the organisation, or by selecting an organisation that you have *workforce access* to. If inviting via email, you will also be prompted to specify a workspace role for that user. When you're done, click "Next".&#x20;
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Lastly, specify what projects the collaborator should be given access to. When you're done, click "Add collaborator".
:::
::::

## Collaboration type

Depending on how the organisations will collaborate, different collaboration types can be assigned to the organisation, which in turn will determine what workspace roles users from the collaborator organisation can receive. A collaborator can receive one or several of the following types: **Data partner, Producer partner, Annotation partner.&#x20;**&#x54;he organisation who created and owns the workspace has the additional type **Owner&#x20;**&#x61;ssigned to them.&#x20;

| **Collaboration type** | **Description**                                                                               | **Workspace roles**                                   |
| ---------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- |
| Owner                  | Implicitly given to the organisation that created and owns the workspace. Cannot be assigned. | Admin, Developer, Project manager, Annotation manager |
| Data partner           | A partner to the owner that shares the responsibility of providing data to the workspace.     | Developer                                             |
| Producer partner       | The organisation handling the process of the projects and deliveries.                         | Project manager, Annotation manager                   |
| Annotation partner     | A third party organisation that provides workforce to the workspace.                          | Annotation manager<br />                              |

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note:&#x20;**&#x41; Data partnership is a close collaboration with the owner organization (or another data partner). These parties agree to share identities of any `Developers` or `Admins` in the workspace. This makes it possible to e.g. Developers to get tasks assigned to them in a request, without the owner organization needing to have workforce access to the entire data partner organization.
:::

### Edit an organisation's collaboration type

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Caution:&#x20;**&#x52;emoving a collaboration type will remove any forbidden roles, according to the table above. This might remove access to certain features in the app for the collaborator's members!
:::

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click on the "three dots" next to the organisation that you would like to edit collaboration type for.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click "Edit collaboration type" and select or de-select the desired type(s).
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click "Save changes".
:::
::::

## Project access

A workspace collaborator can get access to one, multiple or all projects within a workspace.&#x20;

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/UEsak7qRkcTDH_27M-apg-DLigVtwd2gB27Qrdjnx4D-20240916-064005.png "In this example, the organisation \"Data partner\" is invited to a workspace owned by the organisation ACME. The Data partner organisation gets access to one of two projects.")

### Edit an organisation's project access

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note:&#x20;**&#x55;sers are only allowed to edit project access for the projects their organisation has been given access to.&#x20;
:::

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click on the "three dots" next to the organisation that you would like to edit project access for.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click "Edit project access" and select either "Limited access" or "Full access".
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
If selecting "Limited access", you'll be presented with a list of your accessible annotation projects in the workspace, and you can select which of these the collaborator should get access to.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click "Save changes".
:::
::::

## Automatic membership

It is possible to automatically add any new users invited to a specific organisation as members to your workspace.&#x20;

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the collaborators table, find the organisation you want to automatically invite new users from.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click on the toggle switch ("Auto invite") on that organisation's row.
:::
::::

## Add existing users

Conveniently it is also possible to add all current users from an organisation if you want to make sure everyone in a certain organisation has access to your workspace. &#x20;

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note:&#x20;**&#x54;his action can only be performed on organisations to which one has *workforce access*.
:::

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click on the "three dots" next to the organisation that you would like to add all existing users for.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click "Add all existing users".
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the modal dialog, Click "Add all users".
:::
::::

## Remove collaborator

:::hint{type="warning"}
Removing a collaborator will remove all members from that organisation from the workspace and they may lose access to projects, data and the ability to perform annotation tasks.
:::

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click on the "three dots" next to the organisation that you would like to add all existing users for.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click "Remove collaborator".
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
In the modal dialog, click "Remove".
:::
::::





